Joomla 1.0 with php errors, need to upgrade to 1.5

Joomla version 1.0 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
kpaull
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joomla 1.0 with php errors, need to upgrade to 1.5

Post by kpaull » Sat Aug 18, 2012 2:44 pm

I admin a website hosted by GoDaddy. I am running Joomla 1.0 and PHP 4.x. When you try and access the site http:\\currentgatherings.com you get many php errors "Function eregi() is deprecated" in many php files. You cannot even login to the administrator control panel.

So I talked with GoDaddy and they saysaid "The errors you are experiencing are due to the recent retirement of PHP4 from our shared hosting environment. PHP version 4 is no longer available and all accounts configured to use it are now operating under PHP version 5.x. " I missed those warning emails.

So I updated my PHP on Godaddy this morning to 5.3, still on Joomla 1.0, I know it won't fix my issue but is necessary to eventually install, migrate to Joomla 2.5 via 1.5 first. I now need to backup my site. It was not accessible before or now via the Joomla Control Panel, so I cannot install any migration or backup tools. What are the directories/files/folders I need to download via FTP to my local computer? FYI, I have just run a backup of the mysql db, and downloaded it to my local computer.

Then as a 2nd part, what is my best way to migrate Joomla 1.0 to 1.5 without the use of the many migration tools as modules, I cannot install right now?

Thanks alot,
Kurtis

dorriga
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Re: Joomla 1.0 with php errors, need to upgrade to 1.5

Post by dorriga » Sun Aug 19, 2012 3:45 am