installing a template - Manifest and XML setup file errors Topic is solved

Everything to do with Joomla! 5.x templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
ibexweb
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

installing a template - Manifest and XML setup file errors

Post by ibexweb » Sun Mar 03, 2024 7:24 am

Sorry - if I'm in the wrong place please refer me on to the right forum.

I'm a complete beginner working my way through a test build on the launch.joomla.org site. I've been following through on some [youtube] videos that are from OSTraining but they were written for v3 of Joomla. So far I've managed to work most things out, but once I got to templates they were too far out of date.

I've just started to try and load a new template by downloading the sporty template (theme?) (theme-900337.zip) from template toasters site. Every attempt to install this, and a couple of other themes, results in the same errors
JInstaller: :Install: Can't find XML setup file.
and
Unable to detect manifest file.
I know I've got to be getting something really simple wrong but I can't work it out. Any help would be appreciated.

I don't actually care about the specific template for now - I'm just trying to get something to work before I start on designing a new set of pages for my club.

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Re: installing a template - Manifest and XML setup file errors

Post by AMurray » Sun Mar 03, 2024 7:58 am

You're using a template that's too old for Joomla 5 (I can't find any reference to your template theme-900337.zip from Template Toasters. I suggest you use Cassieopia (the default template in J5) until you're comfortable with Joomla.