Uninstall Joomla 5 for Helix quickstart install?

Everything to do with Joomla! 5.x templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Lakeside55
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Uninstall Joomla 5 for Helix quickstart install?

Post by Lakeside55 » Wed May 01, 2024 6:41 pm

Think I know the answer already but just checking. So I have Joomla 5 on my windows laptop, running with XAMPP.

I decided after much looking that I like Helix Ultimate, but it seems it must be installed with the quickstart installer which installs Joomla 4? And then the idea is to update to Joomla 5 after?

I've never used one of those before but I read that it's much easier than trying to install Helix just as a template, as you won't have it looking like the demo, with all the sample content and images etc.

So do I just uninstall Joomla 5 and start over with the quickstart?

Thanks, appreciate any reply.
Last edited by AMurray on Wed May 01, 2024 9:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: mod note: edited (into paragraphs) for easier reading.

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Re: Uninstall Joomla 5 for Helix quickstart install?

Post by AMurray » Wed May 01, 2024 9:39 pm

We wouldn't recommend using the quickstart package at all.

Joomshaper.com has a non-quickstart download (template only) package along with its helix framework plugin.
helix ultimate.jpg
You seem to have been doing that anyway - having installed Helix in your existing J5 site. So I see no reason to change.

Helix Ultimate is like any other template. Create your articles, menus, modules and so forth and build your site that way.