Override pagination to show fewer page links

Everything to do with Joomla! 5.x templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
ericuhl
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Override pagination to show fewer page links

Post by ericuhl » Wed May 08, 2024 8:05 pm

I'm currently developing my own custom template and I've cloned Cassiopeia and began modifying it. My issue is that if there is enough content, the pagination looks like this:
<< < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 > >>

What I'd like to do is reduce the number of page links so that it looks like this
<< < 1 2 3 4 5 > >>

I found the Joomla Core file that puts the pagination together here:
public_html/library/src/Pagination/Pagination.php

But this is a Joomla Core file and I don't want to alter it, or I'm not sure how to properly override it. If I take Pagination.php and clone it to "public_html/templates/[template_name]/html/" I get a namespace error.

I've also created overrides of the layout files here at:

public_html/templates/[template_name]/html/layouts/joomla/pagination/link.php
public_html/templates/[template_name]/html/layouts/joomla/pagination/links.php
public_html/templates/[template_name]/html/layouts/joomla/pagination/list.php

Can someone help me figure out how to properly override the pagination for Joomla? If there is any other information that I can provide please let me know.

carlitorweb
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Re: Override pagination to show fewer page links

Post by carlitorweb » Wed May 08, 2024 8:24 pm

Unfortunately, is not possible through an override or a param set in the administrator. You can see this value is set hardcode in the Pagination class, line #157